top of page
  • Writer's pictureNILE

Announcing 2021 Top Lobbyists!

Updated: Nov 18, 2021

Fairfax, VA – Today the National Institute for Lobbying & Ethics (NILE) announces its list of individuals receiving the NILE 2021 Top Lobbyists distinction. After a seven-week nomination process that saw an overwhelming number of submissions, 100 individuals were chosen from across the nation. NILE’s 2021 Top Lobbyist designees are made up of lobbyists, PAC managers, and grassroots professionals working for associations, small firms, large firms, and corporations. Everyone chosen as a 2021 Top Lobbyist showed significant 2021 success, took an innovative approach to their field, and demonstrated commitment to give back to their community and profession, as well as adherence to the highest ethical standards. In a field dominated by the who's who, NILE aims to recognize those who have been working hard behind the scenes to enact meaningful change.

NILE set out to create an annual Top Lobbyist designation to recognize and spotlight the amazing work done by lobbyists, PAC managers/directors, and grassroots professionals. The NILE Top Lobbyist distinction endeavors to be more representative of the profession, not based on who you know and where you work, but a distinction made by lobbyists for lobbyists. All nominees were nominated by their peers, clients, or Congressional staff and were evaluated blindly to ensure receiving the honor of 2021 Top Lobbyist is 100% merit based.

“I thought the list of winners in 2020 was amazing. This year’s list again highlights the amazing work of some amazing professionals,” stated Paul Miller, NILE chairman of the board. “This distinction is so special because it was designed by lobbyists, judged by lobbyists, for lobbyists. Our profession can be easily misunderstood by the public and our contribution to government is often overlooked. This distinction begins to show the positive side of incredible professionals in the lobbying profession who are making a real difference,” added Miller.

“The award winners represent both well-known and lesser-known Government Relations professionals, many whowork day in and day out without expecting recognition. They are providing tremendous value for their organizational stakeholders. They inspire me, and I believe their accomplishments will inspire many in our profession to raise the bar even higher,” stated Tommy Goodwin, NILE president”

We wanted to showcase this year’s true industry leaders, and we believe the individuals below are reflective of just that! Congratulations to all 2021 Top Lobbyists!

NILE 2021 Top Lobbyists

Association Category - 28

Tori Emerson Barnes, U.S. Travel Association

Chatrane Birbal, HR Policy Association

Cherae Bishop, American Red Cross

Mike Bober, Pet Industry Joint Advisory Council

Manuel Bonilla, American Society of Anesthesiologists

Kevin Cain, American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges

Jack Cline, University of Kansas

Jim Coon, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Pearce Crosland, Building Owners and Managers Association International

Lucas Crumley, Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association

Mary Kate Cunningham, American Society of Association Executives

Ryan Donovan, Credit Union National Association

Quardricos Driskell, American Urological Association

Joe Franco, LeadingAge

Gracie Gerlach, The Council of Insurance Agents and Brokers

Marco Giamberardino, National Electric Contractors Association

Scott Greytak, Transparency International U.S. Office

KJ Hertz, March of Dimes

Micaela Isler, National Association of Business Political Action Committees

Billy Johnson, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc.

Bill McCabe, The Enlisted Association

Katherine B. McGuire, American Psychological Association

Joyce Meyer, American Council of Life Insurers

Paulo Pontemayor, Catholic Health Association of the United States

Guila Todd, American Counseling Association

Matt Tremblay, Electronic Transactions Association

Emily Tryon, American Land Title Association

Sarah Yi, CTIA – The Wireless Association

Corporation Category – 19

Saat Alety, Allstate

Sean Callinicos, Sonova Group

Anais Carmona, T-Mobile

Terri Fariello, United Airlines

Nichole Francis Reynolds, ServiceNow

Edward Hill, ViacomCBS

Sean Hughes, Coach USA

Gene Irisari, Samsung Electronics America

Abby Jagoda, Unibal-Rodamco-Westfield

Michele Johnson, Synchrony Financial

Tom Manatos, Spotify

Rita Norton, AmerisourceBergen

Nana Nyanin, Rocket Companies

Jason Park, Expedia Group

Ibn Salaam, Waste Management

James Slotnick, Sun Life

Dontai Smalls, UPS

Patricia Villarreal Tamez, Shell

Cherie Wilson, Delta Airlines

Large Firm Category - 17

Marc Gerson, Miller & Chevalier

Bert Gomez, Becker & Poliakoff, P.A.

Larry Gonzalez, The Raben Group

Tracy Lawless, K&L Gates

Marne Marotta, Arnold & Porter

Patrick Martin, Cozen O’Connor Public Strategies

Francesca McCrary, Forbes Tate Partners

Kevin O’Neill, Arnold & Porter

Laurie Purpuro, K&L Gates

Stacy Rich, Cornerstone Government Affairs

Estuardo Rodriguez, Jr., The Raben Group

Maya Seiden, BGR Group

Susan Sweat, Cornerstone Government Affairs

Nicole Venable, Invariant

Kelley Williams, Forbes Tate Partners

Patrice Willoughby, Signal Group DC

Amanda Wood, Becker & Poliakoff, P.A.

Small Firm Category - 36

Rontel Batie, Batie and Associates

Jeri Brooks, One World Strategy Group

Irene Bueno, NVG

John “JB” Byrd, Miller/Wenhold Capitol Strategies

Tim Cansler, Cansler Consulting, LLC

Cesar Conda, Navigators Global

Jennifer Dionne, Atlantic Strategies Group

Brianne Doura-Schawohl, EPIC Risk Management

Gerard Evans, Evans & Associates

Ariel Gonzalez, Chamber Hill Strategies

Jeff Green, J.A. Green & Company

Marla Grossman, ACG Advocacy

Brian Hess, Emmer Consulting

Jocelyn Hong, Jocelyn Hong & Associates

Adnan Jalil, Alpha Strategies, LLC

Thomas Keller, Keller Partners & Company

David Lusk, Key Advocacy

Robert McBride, McBride Consulting & Business Development Group

Brent Merchant, Merchant McIntyre Associates

Luis Montes, McBride Consulting & Business Development Group

Ashli Palmer, Resolution Public Affairs

Kathryn Peterson, Merchant McIntyre Associates

Randi Reid, Kountoupes, Denham, Car & Reid

Norberto Salinas, Salinas Strategies

Heideh Shahmoradi, O’Keeffe Shahmoradi Strategies

Amy Showalter, The Showalter Group, Inc.

Linda Siegle, Resources for Change, Inc.

Stephanie Stumbo, Goss Samford, PLL8

Thomas Tompsett Jr., Harris Jones & Malone, LLC

Bob Van Heuvelen, The Vogel Group

Alex Vogel, The Vogel Group

Xavier Warren, Congressional Partners

Eriade Williams, theGroup

Mark Williams, Ferox Strategies

Tiffani V. Williams, The Daschle Group

Kate Worrall, Charles Group Consulting


Thanks to the 2021 Top Lobbyist Sponsors

11,497 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Join the Conversation!

bottom of page